Auburn honors four seniors for 2012 season
by Aaron Brenner
Apr 20, 2013 | 3412 views |  0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
AUBURN -- All five individual awards for Auburn's 2012 season were swept by four seniors who graduated last year.

Linebacker/safety Daren Bates was honored with both the Zeke Smith Award (defensive player of the year) and Mike Kolen Award as top tackler, amassing 94 stops last year. Bates was also Auburn's leading tackler in 2011.

Running back and kick returner Onterio McCalebb was named offensive player of the year, winning the Pat Sullivan Award. McCalebb's 570 rushing yards ranked second on the Tigers, on 6.1 yards a carry in 2012, and registered a 100-yard kickoff return for a touchdown against Mississippi State. His 6.37 rush average ranks third in NCAA history.

Tight end Philip Lutzenkirchen made history with the Ken Rice Award, becoming the second non-lineman to be bestowed Auburn's best blocker. Ed West in 1982-83 is the only other exception.

Cornerback T'Sharvan Bell, a fifth-year player last year, was named the Shug Jordan Award as Auburn's most outstanding senior. Bell lost his starting job early in the 3-9 campaign, but was consistently the most vocal leader on the squad both on the sideline and in the press conference auditorium.

All four honorees will be recognized in a pregame ceremony today at the Tigers' A-Day Game.

Aaron Brenner covers Auburn athletics for the Columbus Ledger-Enquirer and The Anniston Star..

Comments must be made through Facebook
No personal attacks
No name-calling
No offensive language
Comments must stay on topic
No infringement of copyrighted material

Friends to Follow

Most Recommended
Today's Events

event calendar

post a new event

Monday, April 21, 2014