State's Mr. Football award goes to Oxford's Thomas
by Brandon Miller
Jan 15, 2014 | 3492 views |  0 comments | 24 24 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Oxford High's Racean Thomas with his Mr. Football plaque. (Photo by Brandon Miller/The Anniston Star)
Oxford High's Racean Thomas with his Mr. Football plaque. (Photo by Brandon Miller/The Anniston Star)
MONTGOMERY -- Racean Thomas was a man of few words when he accepted the Mr. Football award Wednesday, but the Oxford tailback did enough talking on the field throughout his senior year.

Thomas received the Alabama Sports Writers Association's Mr. Football award at a banquet at the Alabama Activities Center. The Mr. Football news highlighted an afternoon in which the backs and linemen in each AHSAA classification were revealed as well.

When Thomas got his turn at the podium, he thanked God and his family, then promptly returned to his seat.

Later, he was a bit more talkative as he held the Mr. Football plaque he received.

“This is really just the beginning of it all. This is a great award, but I want to win more,” Thomas said. “I want to win Heismans. Jameis Winston won it, so I’m hoping I’m next.”

Thomas won the award in a landslide, finishing with 217 points, including 15 of 17 first-place votes. Calera’s Ronnie Clark followed him with 130 points, and Auburn defensive lineman Rasaan Evans was third with 122.

“I’m just proud. I’m ecstatic right now,” Oxford coach Ryan Herring said. “I’m proud for him. I’m proud for Oxford High School. I know what he’s had to put into this season since last February. We asked a lot of him and expected a lot of him. He worked his butt off and fought through ankle injuries all year.”

Thomas, who was also the Class 6A Back of the Year, is the first Calhoun County player to win the award since Mac Campbell of Alexandria in 1997 and first area player to win it since Cherokee County’s Coty Blanchard in 2009.

Thomas and last year’s Mr. Football, Auburn freshman quarterback Jeremy Johnson, are the first back-to-back Auburn commitments to win since Carnell Williams and Brandon Cox accomplished the feat in 2000 and 2001. Thomas’ commitment to the Tigers showed visibly as he wore an orange and blue bowtie, which he said he got for Christmas.

Thomas rushed for 2,211 yards and had 32 touchdowns as a senior and finished his career with a school-record 6,169 yards and 82 touchdowns.

Thomas wasn’t the only Calhoun County player to make the trip to Montgomery on Wednesday. Piedmont defensive lineman Exavyer Jackson fell just shot in the Class 3A Lineman of the Year category.

Jackson finished second to Leeds linebacker Tyler Wright, who edged the Piedmont senior out 62-60.

“The guys that were finalists with me are great players. Their stats were read during the banquet,” Jackson said. “They’re outstanding players and it’s an honor just to be here to support Piedmont. It was a long ride here, but it was a lot of fun.”

Jackson will continue his career at the collegiate level, but he isn’t sure where. Of his options, the defensive lineman said he “really loves” Berry College, Shorter, Belhaven, Lindsey Wilson and Jacksonville State.

“I’m been blessed to have a lot of schools to come and talk to me,” Jackson said. “My grades are sending me far and I have a lot of options. I really love a lot of the little schools talking to me. It’s really up for grabs, but I guess we’ll see in a month.”

Class 1A Back of the Year

RB Jermarcus Brown, Pickens County

Class 1A Lineman of the Year

DL Eddquerrion Harris, R.A. Hubbard

Class 2A Back of the Year

RB Tyler Rogers, Mobile Christian

Class 2A Lineman of the Year

DL Baltazar Rubio, Tanner

Class 3A Back of the Year

RB Jamarius Henderson, Dale County

Class 3A Lineman of the Year

LB Tyler Wright, Leeds

Class 4A Back of the Year

Athlete Ronnie Clark, Calera

Class 4A Lineman of the Year

LB Richard McBryde, Charles Henderson

Class 5A Back of the Year

RB Nick Gibson, Pinson Valley

Class 5A Lineman of the Year

OL Jordan Sims, Homewood

Class 6A Back of the Year

RB Roc Thomas, Oxford

Class 6A Lineman of the Year

DL Rashaan Evans, Auburn

AISA Back of the Year

QB Jake McKenzie, Monroe County

AISA Lineman of the Year

LB Cortney Wilbanks, Restoration Academy
Comments must be made through Facebook
No personal attacks
No name-calling
No offensive language
Comments must stay on topic
No infringement of copyrighted material

Friends to Follow

Most Recommended
Today's Events

event calendar

post a new event

Saturday, April 19, 2014